If you feel behind in life, apply this surprisingly therapeutic good life mindset

I’m fallen into life at my own pace.

Thomas Oppong

--

Photo by Thomas Smith on Unsplash

I am on my own timeline.

It’s my mantra for a slow, conscious living.

I came across this quote and thought it’s worth pondering:

“A satisfied life is better than a successful life. Because our success is measured by others, but our satisfaction is measured by our own soul, mind, and heart.”

If you feel behind in life or think everyone else has figured out their life part from you, don’t despair.

You’re walking a uniquely rare path.

The word “behind” is merely an illusion created by comparing ourselves to others. There are no ‘defined” finish lines in life.

A universal pace of life doesn’t exist.

I think a “satisfied life” is superior to a “successful life.”

The false belief that everyone should follow a universal timeline ( graduating by a certain age, securing a high-paying job, buying a house, starting a family) is a setup for a miserable life.

Some of us take deliberate detours or simply prioritise different things at different times. When we judge ourselves based on where others are in…

--

--

Thomas Oppong

Making the wisdom of great thinkers instantly accessible. As seen on Forbes, Inc. and Business Insider. For my popular essays, go here: https://thomasoppong.com