Lao Tzu: Be Empty. Be Still

The joy of the silent observer

Thomas Oppong
4 min readJun 25, 2024

--

Photo by Helen Ast on Unsplash

When things get overwhelming, I take a slow walk stillness. I introspect. I look within. I quiet my mind. The answers have always been within. If I look hard enough, I find what I’m looking for: inner clarity.

Ancient Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu’s advice on detachment from everything that disturbs our inner peace is deceptively simple but life-changing.

“Be empty. Be still. Just watch everything come and go.”

Lao Tzu’s wisdom is timeless.

A state of being where I observe the world without judgment or attachment has done more for me than all the advice I’ve ever read on improving my inner peace.

Life is an ever-changing flow. People, emotions and things come and go. All things evolve or pass. Stillness is how I learn to accept the changing nature of life without holding on and getting burnt.

It’s how I notice my thoughts and emotions without getting caught up in them. I become more attuned to internal and external subtle cues when I’m still. I improve my perspective on life.

Lao Tzu’s ancient wisdom is a powerful path to awaken the inner peace within. It’s finding the calm observer inside us to free ourselves of unnecessary worry, anxiety and the many stress triggers.

--

--

Thomas Oppong

Making the wisdom of great thinkers instantly accessible. As seen on Forbes, Inc. and Business Insider. For my popular essays, go here: https://thomasoppong.com